Fragrance Oil scent fade help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CamBamBoom

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am just beginning my cold process soap making journey and had a question about scent fading. I've read here that it can be a hit or miss depending on suppliers. For the seasoned makers, was there something you changed within your recipe or process to help the scent come out more ..i.e adding an additional oil type and decreasing an existing ones percentage ? Or did you just have to test and retest different ones using the same recipe to find a fragrance that worked ? Any help is much appreciated !

Have a great Day :)

Nope, I use tried and true fragrances now. I read reviews on the website and here in our Fragrance review. When trying something new I try to make small batches to test. If something doesn't stick or last or there's other issues I don't make it again.

Nope, I use tried and true fragrances now. I read reviews on the website and here in our Fragrance review. When trying something new I try to make small batches to test. If something doesn't stick or last or there's other issues I don't make it again.

Thanks for the input :) I suppose that's just the way I have to go!

You can't blame it on the supplier necessarily, as long as you're working with a "real" bath and body company like Brambleberry, WSP, Peak, etc.
Some fragrances stick in soap, and some don't. There are even a few that work very well for some soapers, but don't for others. For one example, Nurture's Satsuma has quite a few fans here - so I bought a one lb bottle of it only to find that it completely faded in my soap (used at full strength) in 3 months.

You can't blame it on the supplier necessarily, as long as you're working with a "real" bath and body company like Brambleberry, WSP, Peak, etc.