Forgot to add palm kernel flakes to cp

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kiaadw

Reaction score
Hey, I’m quite new to making cp when making a batch of soap tonight I completely forgot to add 4oz of palm kernel flakes. Is this soap ruined? My soaps oils & fats added up to 39.00 oz total . Not sure if that helps.

It might not be safe to use - Please can you write out your full recipe including the amount of lye and water so that we can troubleshoot. It would be best if you could use percentages: eg 20% Palm oil, 10% Palm Kernel, 40% Olive oil, etc. Then give the actual lye concentration and amount.
So I made my recipe from bramble berry here it is with lye solution and oils and fats.

Attachments

• IMG_4203.jpeg
    IMG_4203.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_4202.jpeg
    IMG_4202.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
So I made my recipe from bramble berry here it is with lye solution and oils and fats.
Your soap is most likely lye heavy.

You are missing 10% of the oil for your batch. If you superfat at 5% and even if your NaOH is at 97% purity, there is that 2% extra lye that will make your soap unsafe to use for quite awhile. It can cure out with enough exposure to air but that will take a long time and you will never be sure.

I would suggest a rebatch to add the missing oil or forget the batch for a long while and do a zap test before using the soap.

If you put your recipe through a lye calculator you will find that it has a -7% superfat, which means it is lye heavy. I agree with @Saponificarian that you need to rebatch or let it sit for many months and zap test before use. I have no idea how long it would take to be safe to use, if ever. Maybe someone else knows.

Toss it, don't risk it.