First time making soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

La Ro

Reaction score
Hi my names Lawrence and I have a diploma in laboratory technologies. I'm quite good at chemistry but I am having trouble using the soap calculator.

Could someone help me with the amounts (anything ive missed out or could improve would be helpful to) as I've read different oils need different amounts of hydroxide compounds.

I plan on using 500ml Total oil.
I'll be using in this recipe:(correct me if I'm wrong any where)

For liquid soap (KOH 90%)
Oils:
Apricot kernel oil 45%
Grape seed oil 45%
Argan oil 10%

Additives:
Aloe vera gel
Sodium lauryl sulphate
Lavender essential oil

Super fat 5%(not sure if I add less koh or add extra oil after reaction is complete.

Also can this be done at room temp or do I need to do it under heating?

Thanks and any help is appreciated.

Here are my thoughts in no particular order:

1. You can make LS at room temp (CP) or with heat (HP). I choose to heat my oils and use the lye solution while it is still hot. I don't add additional heat since my paste is typically zap-free within a few hours all on it's own.

2. For your first few batches, please consider skipping the aloe vera gel and the SLS. Those tricky additives will require extra faffing around. It's so much better to first get the feel for making a basic LS with the characteristics that you like. Instead of the SLS, consider adding some coconut oil or PKO for better lather. Personally I'd use that at 10% instead of the argan oil. Once you know how to make a good LS, argan will make a nice post-cook SF. But it's an expensive oil to use for the soap base.