For Kitn - felting tutorial...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LJA

Reaction score
Kitn asked me to do this and because she's so sweet, I said I would, but I've done this exactly 5 times, so I'm a total newbie. I can only just show you what I did to make the ones in the photo gallery. I suggest watching some YouTube videos from experienced felters. At any rate, here goes nothin'...

I used one 12" piece of 100% wool roving and a scrap of another piece. I hear merino wool is best. I dunno what the hell I have. :lol: The important part is that it's 100% wool. Divide the piece into two even 12 inch pieces about as wide as your soap.

felting1.jpg

Try to get the fibers "splayed out" as much as you can without big holes in it. Next get a bar of soap. I'm using a fug soap that's great soap, but ended up with some funky issues aesthetically. Don't throw out those abominations (tm Ganiggle). HIDE 'EM! :D . Rub the hard edges of your soap on a surface (I'm using a glass cutting board) just so they don't poke through the wool as easily.

felting2.jpg

Next, lay your soap on the first piece of wool, and starting at one end, wrap the soap like a burrito, until you reach the other end of it. Pig in a blanket style. (anyone else getting hungry?)

felting3.jpg

felting4.jpg

Grab the other piece of wool and do the same exact thing except rolling on the other exposed sides of the soap, until your whole soap is covered with wool. Ya with me so far?

felting5.jpg

Now if you wanna add a splash of color or a shape onto your felted soap, grab a contrasting color piece of wool, and lay it on the wrapped soap in some sort of design that you like. The sucker moves like the dickens so I suggest something simple like a stripe etc. I just did a spiral-y shape.

felting6.jpg