Draggy soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnez

What if I....
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Being I'm a somewhat novice soap maker I'm curious what could be causing a draggy soap. Basically it is not smooth against my skin during use. Wondering if it's cure time too short (4 weeks), recipe (below), or just a fact of life. I have had soaps from big artisans that are also draggy. If it's a matter of recipe, is there any FAs I should raise or lower, or attributes I should worry about? Additives that help?

This is CPed btw, and thrown in the fridge for a day. It is a tree Marie recipe (I believe!).

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230221-131602-473.png
    Screenshot_20230221-131602-473.png
    333.9 KB · Views: 0
I don't know why, but sometimes I find soap draggy for the first few uses, almost like it had some sort of coating on it. But after that, it's fine.
I have noticed this too with the recipe.
I don't like shea butter in soaps because they always feel that way to me.
Hmm. I'll try lowering Shea next time.

I don't know why, but sometimes I find soap draggy for the first few uses, almost like it had some sort of coating on it. But after that, it's fine.
Same here. I have to give it a few rubs and rinses even after I have used it, but let it sit for a while. Like it developed a skin or something that prevents lathering between uses.

Being I'm a somewhat novice soap maker I'm curious what could be causing a draggy soap. Basically it is not smooth against my skin during use. Wondering if it's cure time too short (4 weeks), recipe (below), or just a fact of life. I have had soaps from big artisans that are also draggy. If it's a matter of recipe, is there any FAs I should raise or lower, or attributes I should worry about? Additives that help?

This is CPed btw, and thrown in the fridge for a day. It is a tree Marie recipe (I believe!).