Checking ph in CP - what's the best way?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clhigh29

Reaction score
I don't sell because I'm still in my first year of making soap. Everyone who uses my soap loves it, so I'm troubled by two recent reports of skin irritation. I, too, have noticed that my hands are a bit drier than usual (although my son says the exact opposite about his). I run everything through soapcalc and have been superfatting at 5%. My oils are basic ... olive, coconut, palm, avocado, castor, and shea or mango butter, nothing exotic. My husband recently developed some redness on his knuckles, and someone else who likes my lavender soap had rashes on his body that would appear, then clear up all while using my soap.

Maybe it's not the soap at all, but I wondered what is the best way to check the ph. I freaked out this morning when I used some phenolphthalein on every one of my soaps (as well as one I got from a soap swap), and they all turned bright pink when I rinsed them under water. I decided that this was not the best way to check, since it would be impossible for all these soaps to be bad. Then I tried the zap test, and nothing seemed to stand out. They all tasted like soap. I almost thought I was imagining a zap, so I asked my husband to try one, and he got nothing. The soaps all look like nice ... no crystals or lye rivers.

So I was wondering if anyone checks the ph in their soap regularly, and what is the best method for doing so. I'd like to do this regularly so that I can be more confident about my product.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Phenolphthalein isn't the best way to test soap, especially bar soaps!

As far as some irritation... Maybe the coconut oil percentage is too high for 5% superfat for you? I'm thinking mine might be, and I'm using 20% at a 6% SF. Some people can't handle coconut at all.