can I use my handheld blender for cooking again?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greenbug

Reaction score
I bought a hand held blender to blend soap. If I clean it well, can I use it for cooking?????

Hi, I'm a relative novice myself, but my research says you should have no problem as long as it is cleaned throughly after use and is solid stainless steal. I have read some people wait until the following day to wash their utensils that they also use for food. The theory is as the soap has already saponified you are only washing soap off the appliance or utensils. I have read where others wash their supplies immediately and still use them for cooking.

I would think the exceptions to these would be when you are using wooden utensils (absorption of chemicals and/or fragrances), and in the use of plastic or silicone utensils and molds (fragrance oils can permeate these and and contaminate food flavors). I probably would also be leery of reusing my lye mixing container for food usage, instead I would CLEARLY mark it for lye use only. Hope this helps, and if someone with more experience has better advice I hope they will share.

Dotty

Dotty

You can if you want to. Just watch the essential and fragrance oil scents are well washed off first. Perhaps soak in a container of water with bi-carb soda in it to get rid of the smells. :wink:

You could with the ss items, but I like to keep all my soap and cooking gadgets/pots etc. separate.

I agree with Microdot! Just wash it super well, and take it apart because old soap can get caught in there.

Thanks everyone! I think I will use the blender for cooking, I hate to have 2 of them. I definitely have separate spoons that I use and containers.
I have been reading about people using crock-pot for hot process method.