Can I reuse a pot I've used for soap making?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yeahhtrue

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm new to soap making...actually as of right now, I haven't made any yet. All of my supplies should be arriving today though, so I'm excited to try it out. My question is this..can I use a stainless steel pot from my kitchen for soap making, wash it out, and then safely use it for cooking again? Or does the lye somehow affect the pot to where it should be reserved only for making soap? I've seen some sites specifically say not to reuse anything you use for making soap, but it seems to me that if you just wash out the pot it'll be good as new. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Well, I am reusing stainless steel pots. Stainless steel doesn't react with lye, so my pots are just extra clean. :wink:
What I do is I don't wash the pot until sometimes the next day, when it's already saponified.

Thanks so much for the quick responses. And I'm glad to hear I can just use a pot I already own..one less thing I'll have to pick up!

It may be safe to reuse your soap pot but I prefer to have one pot that is dedicated just to soap. Rather be safe than sorry. I picked up a large stainless steel pot for under $10.00 at Big Lots. Since then, I've run across several at tag/garage sales for as little as $2.00.

I always soak my stainless steel pot in vinegar for a day, and then scrub it out extremely well. The vinegar really cuts down on any soap residue, and then I wash it again with regular hot water and dish soap. I'm not afraid to use that pot for cooking, as I know I keep it REALLY REALLY cleaned out.

As long as you keep your pot immaculate, I don't believe there's any reason to be concerned.

I have separate tools for soap making, bu thats just me. I got them all used at the thrift store.