Bastille soap more white than ash

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Miss Chele

Reaction score
Copy of post from a different thread. I also attached a photo of my notes with the recipe I used.

I’m pretty new to soap making; I’ve made about 10 batches with 6-7 different base recipes.

Hi. I’ve searched for an answer to this question. I made a batch of bastille soap. I poured it at a very light trace. After 6 days I had to put it in the freezer to unmold it. Today I noticed the top of each bar has a swirly layer of white. This is much heavier than the ash I’ve seen before. I did the turmeric test and it turned dark red. I cut a bar in half and don’t see the white continuing throughout.

Can I rebatch this or do I need to throw it out?

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_2894.jpeg
    IMG_2894.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2891.jpeg
    IMG_2891.jpeg
    909.1 KB · Views: 0
I would just let it cure for awhile. The white looks like ash to me, which can happen when pouring at a very light trace. Because you used individual molds, the soap probably didn't gel if you didn't take any steps to force it to gel. With a high olive oil recipe, it is normal to take longer to firm up and get out of the mold.

I'm not familiar with a turmeric test. If the intent is to check for pH as a safety check, you are better off doing a zap test.

Sodium carbonate (ash) is kind of sour-ish tasting.

Haven't heard about turmeric being used as a pH indicator for soap, but I've heard of people using red cabbage sometimes.

I see turmeric changes color from yellowish to reddish between pH 7.4 and 8.6. Since all soap is pH 9.5 or higher, even skin-safe soap, turmeric isn't a useful pH indicator when used with soap.

Same for phenolphthalein -- it changes color about 8.3.