Another disappointment .... help?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clhigh29

Reaction score
This has been a disappointing week for me with my soap. Can anyone please help me with my newest problem? I made this recipe yesterday:

Olive Oil - 21.2 oz.
Palm Oil - 10.6 oz.
Coconut Oil (76 degrees) - 10.6 oz.
Rice Bran Oil - 4.77 oz.
Shea Butter - 3.18 oz.
Castor Oil - 2.65 oz.
Essential Oils - Lavender 40/42, Rosemary, Bergamot EO - 3.0 oz.
Colloidal Oatmeal = 4 tablespoons
Lavender Buds
Oat Milk made with Lavender water = 20 oz.
Lye = 7.29 oz.
Titanium Dioxide and Grape Lab Color

lavender.jpg

I hope you're able to see this, because this is my first time posting a pic and don't know if I'm doing it right. You'll see that right in the center of the log is about an 1 1/2" long crack and a few smaller ones around it.
I poured at light trace - this recipe usually doesn't get much past that state for me. I've been soaping for only 5 months now and have made all of my mistakes in the past 6 days - ugh! Would appreciate any info you got.

Can't be sure, but it could have overheated.

However, if it is in any unstable mold (not wood) it could have just cracked when you picked it up if it is still soft. If still soft, you can push the soap gently back together. Put your gloves on, wet a couple of fingers, and slide over the top of the cracks once pushed back together.

Looks to me like it is the softness issue though. Going to check the recipe now too. BRB.

Okay, recipe is okay, varying between BB and soapcalc here. Just needs to sit longer if it is soft. If it is hard and gelled, it over heated, just cover with thin towel next try. I think it is soft though.

See what others have to say, but I think it will be fine. Just a softer soap, needs longer to harden before picking up or cutting.

Last edited: