Alternative to crockpot / slow cooker for HP?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soapprentice

Reaction score
Here I am, again, with more questions :D.. I have been doing CP soap for about 4 months and loving every bit of it. And recently I happen to see some HP and wanted to try shave soap and transparent soap. The issue is, in India, we don't use crockpots and slow cookers in our cooking. We get crockpot on amazon through amazon export but they sell 110v and we need to use a step adapter to get to 240v, which would lead to faster breakdown. So I would love to know of other options. One more thing, in India, we use gas stoves not electric.

I'm not sure how much gas it would take - it's low and slow, which is why we use slow cookers. I have always wanted to try HP in a solar oven. The ones you make yourself don't seem to be strong enough to be remotely practical (and I worry about food safety), but I think would be perfect for HP.

I use my oven. I preheat my oven to 180F/82C while I am bringing my batter to a trace in a stainless steel soup pot. Once my batter is traced, I cover my pot with its lid and then set it inside my oven and cook @ 180/82C until zapless. Easy-peasy. :)

Edited to add my oven is electric, and my batter reaches zaplessness between 45 minutes to 2 hours tops (depends on the recipe).

IrishLass :)

For that matter, I'm not sure you couldn't "hot process" with a heating pad and decent insulation - or possibly with just insulation alone. After all, the vaseline stage of HP isn't significantly different than a CP in full gel, except that we usually stir in scent and superfat afterward with the former, while leaving the latter alone having added them earlier.