Additives for my next batches....

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RocknRoll

Reaction score
I went shopping for aloe vera juice and look what else I came accross. Coconut flour! I make a coconut scrubby with goats milk that has ground coconut in it and is the best exfoliator, next to oatmeal. This stuff is pure organic coconut finely ground just the way I like it. No more foolin around with grinding and sifting shredded coconut from the bulk section.

My plan for the Aloe juice is to use it for 50% of the water. (like I do for my beer soaps etc..)I hope this will work, I've never used it before!

Also, I use oatmeal, finely ground and sifted for my oatmeal, milk and honey soaps (sorry, I just dont care for big scrapey chunks in my soap) and I found organic ground whole oat flour for CHEAP! It's super fine and I think it will work perfectly! I just may put away my grinder to make more room for...hmm, Fragrance oils lol! j/k

P4050001.jpg

Way awesome! I saw the oat flour at our local grocery, considered picking it up. The almost colloidal oatmeal I made is great, but it is still a touch chunky and too much work to sift out. Totally worth it, I think. Great find !

Since I have to eat Gluten Free I have read TONS of stuff about formulating recipes with different ingredients. Everywhere I have read about the Coconut Flour they have cautioned that it is SUPER DUPER absorbent. Hope you share your experience and how much you use ppo. I don't like soaps that are too scratch so I am always grinding things as fine as I can get them. So if this works in small amounts that would be cool.

I wonder if it would help incorporate it to mix it with some oil first?