What is considered a 100% all natural soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rivervillage

Reaction score
Hi!
I'm new to soap making and reading a lot about ingredients used. Most say natural but if you are using essential oils, or colorants, is it considered natural/ handmade? Just wondering what is considered "all natural"? Also is tallow all natural?

Thank You!

Hi rivervillage - welcome :wave:

Natural - coming from nature. A search in this forum with bring up a few interesting threads on this topic :mrgreen:

My interpretation is that if it's natural, it comes from nature. If I can squish it, cook it or otherwise simply process it (like boiling water from seawater to get salt), I reckon it's natural. If it's the lab made chemical equivalent, then I don't call that natural (doesn't mean I think it's not good, just that I don't call it "from nature").

So by my interpretation of natural, all-natural isn't something I'd call soap, unless I did the whole wash the ashes with sea water and add some crushed rock process to get my lye. You can make soap with all-natural ingredients - that can be a valid claim. Essential oils extracted by steam distillation I would consider natural, as I would expeller pressed olive oil. Some colours are natural (such as clays), but in that example the same colours can be often be synthesized in a purer form than the original product, and not be considered natural.

Handmade is another term that gets a bit bent (it is different from natural). This one can vary in interpretation of how much work turns a product into a handmade product.

Tallow is the fat that is from cows. Most often it is natural. It can be modified by industrial processes (as can a lot of different fats) - and that's where it gets tricky - how much change, changes it from natural to synthetic? The base product is natural ...