What are these white spots on my CP soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi

I'm still a newbie and I have a problem with my latest batches. I have found these white spots just only with 2 pieces that I cut from the end of the edge of the loaf (please see on picture Soap A). Others from the middle of the loaf look smooth and gelled nicely (Soap B).

I have scraped the white spots out. It's soft. Since these white spots aren't not scatter all over the loaf, I don't think my soap is lye heavy. I just cut my soap today andI'll try zap test in a week.

I guess they are stearic spots. What do you think?

Thank you for your answers in advance ☺️

My recipe
Coconut oil 192 g
Palm oil 240 g
Canola oil 64 g
Rice bran oil 160 g
Olive oil pomace 144 g
Lye 112 g
Water 280 g

Additives
Yellow silk cocoon
Rice milk fo 10 g
Green mica
TD (I added just only for the green batter)

Attachments

• IMG_20240103_101307.jpg
    IMG_20240103_101307.jpg
    4.3 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20240103_101407.jpg
    IMG_20240103_101407.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20240103_101514.jpg
    IMG_20240103_101514.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 0
The first picture of the cut face of the bar looks like glycerin rivers to me. The second picture of the side of the bar looks more like soda ash to me, but could also be glycerin rivers. Both are cosmetic only and don't affect the safety or usefulness of your soap.

You can use the search function at the top of the page to search for both of those terms and learn more about how these occur, and what you can do to minimize them.

One quick recommendation to help address both issues would be to change your water setting, which is quite high for cold processed soap. Instead of the default "38% water as percent of oils," you can select "lye concentration" and set it to 33% for a good starting point.