Weird gelling with my loaf mould batches?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Emma Burlingham

Reaction score
Hi
I have been using loaf moulds for a few months (I used to use silicone 6 x single trays) for my 100% plain tallow soaps. Lately I have been getting a strange effect through the middle of the loaf. I am soaping at about 45C and haven't made any significant changes to what i normally do. you'll see from the photo, It's like a reverse gel - there is a hard bright white chalky core and then it gels away from this centre to the edge. usually a partial gel would be the other way round wouldn't it?- gelling in the centre and then gradually fading. I have no clue whats causing this? It has been really cold here in the `uk but the workshop is warm. The recipe is tried a tested over a few years so i don't think it's that - i have tried soaping lower/higher temp, changing where i leave it to set, coving v uncovering. I have been soaping for nearly 10 year and am at a loss! I have added pic. Advice would be much appreciated!
Thanks so much Emma
soap core.jpeg

The recipe is literally 100% tallow - i make big batches, the below recipe is divided between 3 x 2kg moulds (from soap kitchen)
4500g tallow
1352g water
602g lye

soaped at around 45c and poured into a 3 x 2kg soap loaves. The moulds have a sturdy silicon liner in the standard wooden box

Hi