Help my silicone loaf mould shrunk.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

avster

Reaction score
Hello community! So glad to be a part of this forum!
I'm fairly new to soap making and bought these loaf moulds that are meant to be used without wooden casings on the outside.
I've made 2-3 batches of soap and I noticed the shape of the soap changing..the bottom remains nice and straight but the top has started to warp inwards..this makes the soap look wide at the bottom and thin at the top!
Any suggestions what I could be doing wrong?
Attaching a photo of the moulds warped up in comparison to a non warped mould and also a nice of the soap from a warped mould to show you how the shape of the soap is not a nice straight rectangle!

Attachments

• FB_IMG_1714025795782.jpg
    FB_IMG_1714025795782.jpg
    172.9 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG-20240409-WA0019.jpg
    IMG-20240409-WA0019.jpg
    795.3 KB · Views: 0
You're likely not doing anything wrong, those are probably just not the greatest molds. They look fairly thin, which means that they are likely to be floppy and produce bars that are not straight, like the ones in your photo. The only way I can think of to address this is to buy or make some kind of support for the one that hasn't warped yet. See, eg., https://www.soapmakingforum.com/threads/lightweight-inexpensive-insulating-box-for-soap-molds.85953/

Or just buy sturdier molds, if you can, or ones with wooden frames/boxes.

ETA: This is a thread from several years ago about Indian soap making suppliers, not sure if contains mold info, but there might be relevant or otherwise helpful/useful info if you read it through:

https://www.soapmakingforum.com/threads/soap-making-ingredients-suppliers-in-india.82865/

Last edited: