Long Time Stalker, First Time Poster!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

welovesoap

Reaction score
Hello folks! I've been browsing SMF for a few years, and I decided to finally take the plunge and register.

I became interested in making soap "way back" in 2000, when I was working at a Whole Foods. I LOVED the soap that we carried, especially Zum. I had never before experienced REAL soap! (I shudder to think of all of the petrochemicals I rubbed on my body before then!) I picked up a few books on cold process soap, but I didn't take the plunge to actually make them for several years. Why? It's funny to think of now, but I was actually scared to use lye! In retrospect, it really took the invention of YouTube to get me into soap making! There were no classes where I lived, and I am very much the type of person who needs to SEE it done before I feel comfortable doing it. (In fact, YouTube has been my best friend as a crafter in general; I swear I learned 90% of my knitting techniques on there!)

Anyway, fast forward a few years. Up until this last year, I had always considered soaping (and making lip balm) a hobby. I made it so that I didn't have to pay Whole Foods prices on delicious-smelling, all natural soaps! But then I was laid off at my job in September. My family and I are making ends meet, what with my husband's jobs (yes, he has two) and my unemployment checks. But with the extra time on my hands (unfortunately, with my degree in Linguistics, finding a new job will probably be a long time coming in the current economic climate), I am now at a point where I'd like to take soaping to the next level... selling it.