Help with superfat

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HLN80

Reaction score
Hello, I’m a newbie, no soap made yet, I just want to keep learning and figure all this out, I’m interested in using our Goat’s milk to make CP soap and have checked on a few recipes but I do not understand what superfat is, when it goes in and how to calculate it. If someone could explain this to a dummy, I would really appreciate it. Thank you in advance

To transform oils to soap you need a certain amount of lye. So lets say you have 100 grams of oils and your recipe with 0% superfat calls for 10 grams of lye. Those 10 grams of lye will make the 100 grams of oil in to soap. To superfat you would need to add more oils than what the lye can make in to soap. So insted of 100 grams of oils you would use 105. Those 5 extra grams are your superfat. You dont need to figure this out by yourself, once you input your recipe in to a lye calculator you can choose the amount of superfat and it will give you the numbers. On cp you dont separate the “extra” oils. You just use the amount the calculator tells you. Hope that helped. So superfat is just the extra oils the lye wont “transform” in to soap. The “standar” is 5% superfat, but it can be more or less, depending on your preference and the recipe.