Hello there!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Iris Reola

Reaction score
Hi! My name is Iris and I've been researching soap making for a few months now, but only just found the time to actually get started about two and a half weeks ago. My first batch was a bit unattractive because I managed to overheat it, each batch since has been lovely! I have made six three pound batches of soap so far total and hope to sell at my local YMCA's holiday bazaar later on this year.

... oh, I make cold process soap, by the way! Being a little OCD, I find peace in all of the precise measurements one must make throughout the process of making soap from scratch. :lol:

Hello Iris,

Welcoome to the forum!

Good luck with the bazaar. You won't have much time to be able to tell how your soaps will last. By this I mean how the FOs will stay or if they'll fade in a couple of months, the possibility of DOS or rancidity, color morphing, etc.

Have you checking into insurance, taxes and a business license?

Not yet, no. I may drop in at my town office and ask about business licenses, but I didn't find anything under my state's government business page regarding it. As for the tax thing, have any resources regarding that that I may look at? I'm only 20, still live with my parents, and technically still a dependent, so I don't really know how to handle tax stuff. :oops:

EDIT: As far as color morphing goes, one of my soaps which used a fair amount of vanilla fragrance oil has already undergone a massive (but expected) change! It went from kind of a medium color to looking like brownies over the course of 24 hours. :lol:

Iris Reola said: