Hello!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello!
I am fairly new to soap making. I actually started because my son, 13 yrs old, wanted to make soap for a few reasons with the main reason being his many, many, many allergies. He started doing all of the research and pitched his business ideas to me. He had great ideas and was clearly serious about it so after several months of research, planning and saving for supplies his ideas are taking form. We’ve finally started making cold process soap and we are both hooked. We’ve been making soap everyday fine tuning our recipes, technique and knowledge.
I have found so many different tutorials and advice which has made it very confusing so I joined this forum hoping to gain the knowledge we need to do the best we can as well as to network with fellow soap makers.

Welcome.gif

I have found so many different tutorials and advice which has made it very confusing
Since your son wants to make soap that doesn't irritate his skin, you are in good company here!!! Like many SMF members, that's exactly the reason I started making my own soap in 2003. My first soap was 100% lard soap. To this day, I feel it's the best all-around soap for those with skin issues. It's cheap to make and not as likely to cause a reaction as other options. I eventually added 10% coconut oil and 5% castor oil to boost lather.

Fragrance is the main culprit in most cases, so making fragrance-free soap is preferable.

FREE 26-Page Guide to Making Cold Processed Soap

Last edited:
Welcome! Many of us here also started making soap due to skin sensitivities. But since everyone is different, you will find lots of different recipes recommended. Make small, fragrance-free batches to find out which ones work best for your son. Even EOs can be very irritating to those with sensitivities. :)

View attachment 74053