Hello I'm Imactuallymute

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm really new to making soap. I got into this from a one off conversation with my girlfriend about how I'd keep myself busy when visiting her in the Philippines and I said I could make some soap since I remembered the chemistry for it from when I was in high school. I did some reading over a few weeks and made my first batch of soap. It turned out horrible. It's gritty, covered in ash from what I imagine is too much lye, and it stinks like lye because I thought 3 drops of fragrance for a pound of soap was enough. However, I shower with it every day and it does great. At the very least I can use this hobby to give myself cheap soap. I like to approach soap making from the angle of being as frugal as possible. I want to make my own NaOH through electrolysis and KOH from ashes (I already have a bucket of liquid to boil down into purer KOH). Until I get to that point I want to get better at making soap from used oils and cheap oils, whether to use on myself or give away to friends and family.

Also a little bit about me I used to stream on twitch and I occasionally make videos on YouTube. If I'm not making soap or studying for making soap I'm either editing videos or playing games like old school rune scape or monster hunter.

Welcome! As a fellow frugal soaper, I like rendering lard and tallow from fats provided by the local butchers, and cleaning used cooking fats generated from large batch cooking (e.g., 20lb pork roast). I've also saved a lot of $$ by finding local destashes from those who are moving, quitting their bath and body business, etc.

However, in all honesty, I'm no longer as frugal anymore when it comes to soaping tools, molds, ingredients for other bath and body products, etc.. For that, I blame all the enablers really nice, helpful people on this forum!

Welcome !