Must Have Supplies?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kitty1986

Reaction score
Hey all! I am new to the soap game and want to start out with MP before I head to CP. I have done 2 batches of MP and I have tons and tons to learn still. But I also want to try bath and body items, too. I find I am getting frustrated when finding new tutorials to try when I realize I don't have the right tools for the job and the project ends up costing an arm and a leg. So my question is, what are the must-have tools and supplies to start with?

I have one silicone mold of 4 cavities of 5 oz rectangles. I know I need a scale that measures in grams and ounces and can measure down to at least 1/10, preferably 1/100 (.1 vs .01). The mold is pretty much the only supply I have that is reusable. What do you advise I shop for? I don't want to buy anything fancy at this point but I DO want products that will work for at least a year (like thermometer, stick mixer, etc.).

Thank you!

A mold or two, or three or ten... a large container (preferably with a spout) to make the soap in, a stick blender, a scale that measures to at least .1 oz like you said, some silicone spatulas like you use to frost a cake, a heat-resistant pitcher to make the lye solution in, safety goggles, and rubber gloves. Those are the bare minimum, you can also get a thermometer but I just let my oils and lye solution cool to room temperature so I don't have to worry about the temperature. A soap-cutter is a good investment, too.

I would like to have more molds! I think I'd like to stick with silicone ones, too, since I'd probably crack the plastic ones trying to get soap out :lolno: What are some of your all's favorite molds?