Why olive oil B traces faster than extra virgin?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lyma

Reaction score
Hello to everyone,
To those who have used many types of olive oil in soapmaking, it's obvious that grade B or pomace olive oil speeds up the process.
I was wondering which is the factor of that?
It's the different composition in oleic acid?
Or is it the acidity caused from the formation of free fatty acids? The lower the acidity the more virgin the olive oil.

Oddly enough, not everyone has that problem with pomace olive oil. It speeds up for me, but so many other soapers I talk to have no problems like that.

Genny is right. I've been using Pomace for several months now, & I find no difference in it. I have time to do whatever attempts/designs I want with my soap. I was able to get 4.5 gallons of it for $49 locally. NO SHIPPING charges. LOL wow...I feel like I won the lottery just typing that...shipping charges are killers for my soaping ingredients...a necessary evil :/

No, i'm not talking about a problem. Pomace or Olive oil Grade B decrease stirring time comparing to EVOO. It's an advantage for them!
But i'm trying to find the reason behind this.
The differences between them is the acidity (lower free elaic acid for EVOO, higher for Grade B), the unsaponifiables (lower for EVOO, higher for Grade B) and i don't know if they have differences in fatty acids composition.

No, i'm not talking about a problem. Pomace or Olive oil Grade B decrease stirring time comparing to EVOO. It's an advantage for them!
But i'm trying to find the reason behind this.
The differences between them is the acidity (lower free elaic acid for EVOO, higher for Grade B), the unsaponifiables (lower for EVOO, higher for Grade B) and i don't know if they have differences in fatty acids composition.