How much and which essential oil? And which honey?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Overedith

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new to soapmaking and experimenting with making soap with honey. It's for a spring market for the school of my child, where a queen bee will hand out small free honey soaps.
I have this recipy below, which turns out oke, but it doesn't smell nice. In the recipe it sais to add a few drops of essentiol oil (orange and patchouli). But in the soap calculator it sais to add 24 gram. I tried both, but I'm not happy with the smell (no smell, or a very strong smell, and also a bit of a chemical smell). Maybe I should wait a few weeks untill the soap has matured, but this will take too long.
My question is: which essential oil(s) would you add to this recipy and how much? I would like to not spend too much money on it.
Another question for the honey: which honey would you use, and does the type of honey make a difference in the color the soap turns out to be? I would like it to have a warm yellow color. i will add the honey (dilluted in some water) after the trace.

780g olive oil
160g coconut oil
60g shea butter
2 teasp honey
278g water
132g natriumhydroxide

Thanks in advance!
Edith

Citrus essential oils are notorious for not sticking well in CP soap. Patchouli is strong and does stick well, but not everyone likes it (shocking, I know 😂)! Maybe try a patchouli and lavender blend. Or if you have access to a melt and pour base made with honey and it isn’t too expensive you might consider that - your orange essential oil will stick in that. I love your avatar!

I use the cheapest honey I can get. I hope you mean sodium hydroxide, not natrium hydroxide.
Thanks, good to know. And in Dutch sodium and natrium hydroxide are the same...