What to mix lye in if not plastic?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Meldoesasoapy

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've been soaping for a couple years now, always mixing my lye solution in glass (always been fine). Recently decided to stop with the Russian roulette and use #5 plastic instead as people recommend.

Attached are pictures of what it did to the container... how is this better than glass that's never broken?? Is this not the right type of plastic?

It was 2.22 oz of lye and 4.44 oz of breast milk.

Attachments

• 20230627_133813.jpg
    20230627_133813.jpg
    499.3 KB · Views: 0
  • 20230627_133823.jpg
    20230627_133823.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 0
I use number 5 plastic and it's fine. You do get some 'etchings' over time - not unlike when you use plastic contains for reheating food in the microwave. I don't think it's a concern.
Incidentally is that scrubbed clean? Or just after the solution is poured out?
This is after it's been cleaned and dried, and only after 1 use. I kinda get the feeling it wasn't a true #5 because I just tried it on another 5 plastic jug and it didn't do that at all. And I think it was more than just an etching, because it was eating through the plastic. Is 05 different than just 5?

The quick look I've had online would suggest that 05 is the same as 5.

#5 PP – Polypropylene​

PP is a tough and lightweight plastic, that is known for its excellent heat resistance, which makes it popular to use in takeaway shops. Additionally, it is considered safe for continued reuse as it’s unlikely to leach chemicals and break down over time.

It’s a durable plastic with many uses and many kerbside collections have started accepting PP to be recycled. We even use 50-80% post-consumer recycled materials in our Method bins.

Common products that use PP:

• Takeaway containers
  • Margarine and yogurt containers
  • Straws