what kind of olive oil

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kamela

Reaction score
what kind of olive oil do you need to use for soapmaking? Regular or extra virgin? Thanks!

Either is fine - the darker the olive oil the darker the bar, though.

That is what I was thinking too but I wanted to get some input from some more experienced soap makers than myself as I haven't really been making soap for very long. Thanks for the info!!

I haven't been making soap long myself, but I remember reading that extra virgin is actually not a good choice for soap. I use Grade A. It has worked very well for me in the several batches I've made, but like I said, I'm a newbie.

I'm rather new as well, so (no offense SudsyKat!) I hope you're wrong! I just used a whole lotta EV oil because I ordered it by mistake. The soaps have come out great, but I have yet to use one.

I've used grade A, and I've used olive oil pomace. You don't need the extra expense of extra virgin for your soap. Just make sure its not adulterated and you'll be fine.

Glenolam - I say if it's working for you, stick with it. As someone after me mentioned, though, it is probably unnecessarily expensive. I say it's your call, since it seems to be working well for you. :D

I use EVOO, but that's because it's all I can find in the local stores. Haven't ordered any olive off the internet yet.

I use what ever is cheapest, too, but wasn't paying attention on the WSP site.... :oops: