Water in CP soap recipes

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Violetta

Reaction score
Hello all
I'm very new to soap making. I've made my first CP soap yesterday but feels like I've to much lye in the soap ( I've used lye calculator ) I've created my own recipe in percentages first as follow,

25% Olive Oil
20 % Coconut oil
15% Shea Butter
10% Sunflower Seed Oil
5% Castor
5% Apricot Kernel

I've read that I should leave some space for water i left was 20% - it that correct %?

I was making 600 gr of soap as a test, with 33% lye concentration - amount of lye was 202 gr according to lye calculator ( % excess fat 5) , I've calculated amount of water = 410. Did -4% discount. = 194 gr Lye to 393 gr water.

The only thing I can think of is that I used tap water but I can't imagine that would but the reason for to much lye.

I'm puzzled and really appreciated your help am I missing something very obvious here ? Thanks so much

When you formulate a recipe, you don't add the water into the total weight. You need 100% of oils, the lye and water will be separate. For a 600gr recipe, use 600 grams of oils.
I have a hard time with math so its difficult for me to follow exactly what you did but I suspect you need to add another 20% of oil. One of our intelligent member will come along and give you a better answer.

ditto what obsidian said. your recipe was off, you only had 80% of the total oils. you needed another 20%.

which calculator did you use? usually, it won't let you off if you don't have 100% of oils. like soapcalc, it will issue a warning, that you need to add/subtract this or that amount.
so yeah, i'm curious, where did you get the amount for lye if you only had 80% of the total oils? or did you put 100% and then subtracted it manually?

Hi