Want to make Zany's No-Slime

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
This is my first post here. I'm a newbie to soap, but not to chemistry...

I want to make Zany's No-Slime Castille using an unconventional long-way-round method. Please read for the full story.

2 weeks ago, I made a cold process goat's milk castille soap after reading some people say it was their favorite and before reading about slime... I made my own recipe after reading for weeks using SoapCalc to get the lye amount as follows:

200g olive oil (not extra virgin, just the yellowish cheap stuff from walmart)
76g frozen goats milk (yes, I recognize this is an "intermediate" ingredient, but the point of soaping for me is to use up milk my goats produce that is undrinkable, like hoof-in-the-bowl)
26gNaOH

Method: Slowly add lye to frozen milk, and stir until the milk melts then dissolves the lye, add a little more lye, etc, until all the lye is added. slowly pour lye milk down my stick blender into weighed out olive oil. Stir alternating with SBing until light trace, then pour into individual bar molds. I unmolded 48 hours later. I planned on curing for at least 6 months.

I REALLY don't want to use slimy soap. I have texture issues. I really don't want to gag while washing my hands.

Question: Is it possible for me to rebatch the above recipe by adding 1 part Zany's faux sea water per 3-4 parts grated soap to a crockpot or microwave bowl, melt it all together, and then cure???

ANY hints, tips, tricks I should know. I don't want to wait 6 months just to throw it all away.

The other option I've thought of is to start making another soap (like lard, or tallow), at light trace, pour in a melted down slimy Castille, hand mix really well, and then pour into molds. Possible? Useful? Pointless?

Last edited by a moderator: