using dairy butter for soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

keekee505

Reaction score
Hi i am very new to soap making. only a few days. I have just made a soap recipe using 30% coconut oil with 70% unsalted dairy butter (i melted it and only used the clarified butter) will this work or have i made a huge booboo? I used the soapcalc to get my amounts of oils, water and lye.
can soap be made using dairy butter? has anyone tried it? what were the results?

The odor of butyric acid in soap is odd but not horrible to my nose, so YMMV on that.

This fatty acid, like the shorter-chain fatty acids in coconut oil, can cause the soap to be a strong cleanser. So it might more drying to the skin than a person might want, especially since you also used 30% coconut in the recipe.

One other thing -- did you account for the water in the butter? Butter is not pure fat. If you didn't adjust for the water content, your soap might not have enough fat to consume all the NaOH, and it might be lye heavy. Not saying it is, but it could be. You should carefully zap test this soap before you use it.

https://www.soapmakingforum.com/threads/how-to-properly-safely-conduct-the-zap-tongue-test.63199/

:nonono: :nonono: :nonono: BAD plan. It makes for very stinky hands. Just ask me how I know. I did not necessarily smell it in the soap but after washing my hands with it. There was a group of us in an older forum that tried it several years ago and we all had the same results. It just did not turn out nice smelling.

I think the batch I made was 30% butter, and it honestly wasn't horrid smelling in the bar or on the skin. That said, I'll concede it wasn't the nicest nor prettiest soap I've ever made either.