totally curious about something

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Well, I'm new to soap making. I am in the process of gathering supplies, experimenting to find my most perfect long lasting recipe. I'm loving all the fo's and different coloring fancy techniques. This process will take over a yr plus some until I feel comfortable in making a quality product... and in that time, I will go broke. Haha. I will want, probably one day, to start selling as a means to counter my addiction. One day far far away lol.

So I do think about some things, when it comes to selling, when it comes to my ultimate goals, and would love to hear from sellers about these things to help me decide which way I want to take this soaping.

Do you sell one main recipe that you scent and color differently (maybe adding the occasional clay to the main recipe), or do you sell soaps of many different recipes to accomplish different things (like a cleansing one, a conditioning one, a naked bar, a grease monkey bar, and a milk bar, etc etc etc)?

Do you change up your scents often, or did you experimenting finding your fave scents, and stick to those only with the occasional holiday one? (everyone's always discussing these eo/fo's they purchased and I wondered...Do they change it up monthly or just stick to a certain scent every time).

Do you stick to more natural looks, or go for fancy colors and swirls etc?

On average, how many types of soaps do sellers typically sell, not you per say. Oh I'm going to browse etsy to see if I can answer some of these questions, but I'd love your all's experience as well!