Total Newb w/ Lots of Questions! :)

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

annnewjerz

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am a complete newb to the soap making world---a soap virgin if you will, since I haven't even started my first batch yet. :D

I've been reading up here, and looking through a bunch of websites to figure out what's what and I figured rather than get my answers piecemeal it might make sense to ask here!

I'm interested in cold process soap making and although I know I should start out with simple soaps that don't require any EO, FO, added colorants or exfoliants, I would like to eventually like to graduate to more complex soaps, so here are my questions:

1. Where do you buy your oils from? Obviously, I know olive oil is readily available everywhere, but coconut oil, palm oil and some others I've seen I honestly have no idea where to get.

2. How do I know if an oil listed in a recipe is supposed to be a liquid or solid oil?

3. What size batch should I make the first time? How many bars will the recommended batch size make?

4. Where do you get recipes? Do you come up with stuff on your own, or use recipes you find online? Some types I'm hoping to make in the future would be a coffee soap for the kitchen, a raspberry oatmeal soap and a lemon poppyseed.

5. Do you recommend any particular books/websites that would help me get a better grasp on the whole process?

6. Do I need to buy dedicated soap molds, or can I buy something like a loaf pan, casserole dish, etc. to use solely for soap making?

7. Can you recommend a good starter recipe to try before I jump into more complex soaps?

Thanks so much! I'm sure you all like pictures so my bribe will be in exchange for all of the information you can give me, I promise to take pictures of everything once I get started!!

Ann