Thank you SMF!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

delicious

Reaction score
Wow, I've been absorbed in the forum all day! There is just so much ressource, so much to learn!
Each time I open a new post I learn something new which arises new doubts/questions but before I have time to ask I find the answers in other posts.

I'm new to soap making. I still haven't got to making soap although I had first wanted to try 3 years ago. I keed finding good reasons to not start just now.
When I first encountered home made soap making we were planning a move so I didn't want to start a new project during that time.
Then we traveled for over a year so lugging soap material was out of the question and it slipped out of my mind.
Now that we are installed in our new home, it just slipped back in and I am dead stuck on trying now that I can.

One liable excuse is my one month old daughter that I breastfeed. I have to stay available for her. I thought I might have to put it off until she is at least 6 months or so and doesn't need me so much. But then I wondered how long the soap making actually takes. Before I had the time to ask I found the anwser. And I take your advice as to divide the work. I guess I'll prepare everything throughout one day (or two, or three) and only mix the lye and water and then soap when I'm sure she'll be ok and not need me for an hour or two. And I might also do a dry run, as if to make me more secure in what I'm doing. Anyway, I might take a month or two just assembling the supplies...

I usually skip the introduction board in forums, but I really felt like saying a big thank you to the people who hold this all together and all the contributors of course :)

Welcome delicious! Hope you manage to find the time to soap. It's challenging with a little one. Make sure to post pics of your soaps when you have some.