Testing old lye

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

B&E Homestead

Reaction score
I have some pretty old lye that has never been opened but is hard and clumpy nonetheless. I guess the plastic container it came in wasn't sealed.
Is there a way to test it? Perhaps measuring the temperature change in the water when the lye is mixed into it? And if it doesn't get hot enough, does that mean less of the lye is reacting and I therefore need to use MORE lye per ounce of water?
I have made a few batches of soap with it and it does make soap but seems to take a long time to trace, like an hour, using an electric mixer like for cookie making. I'm fairly new to soapmaking so I'm not really sure how long is too long.

Good lye will quickly heat up to 225-250F. From what I have read, it should be used within a year of purchase.

I have had lye that's well over a year and works perfectly. If stored properly that is. I keep mine in the bottles they arrive in and then in a bucket with a gamma seal. I know several people have had lye years old that was still just fine if stored. Your may not as it's hard and clumped. I would probably call it a loss as moisture got into it and you don't know the strength of the lye at this point. Someone with more science knowledge will hopefully pipe in too.

Thank you for the video. That is very helpful. I am wondering now, what percentage of purity is still useable, and if my lye is below that percentage can I still make soap with it just using a little more lye? Like if my lye turns out to be 75% pure, I would assume that means it is 25% water. Is this correct thinking? My clumpy lye is still pure white, not grey. I'm pretty sure it is from moisture not from being exposed to air since the jars are unopened, just really old, maybe 6 years. It is from the lye guy, same stuff as in the video.