Teaching classes.....

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BinxHowell

Reaction score
I have recently been invited to teach CP soap making at a local artist co-op. I am extremly excited (and nervous... and honored...) to take advantage of this opportunity. Does anyone else teach in-person classes? What is your experience with this? How much do you charge? Is liabilty insurance an absolutle must? All feedback is greatly appreciated.
I've been soaping for about three years and consider myself well versed, but still always learning.

Have fun, but note :

Product liability or general business liability (in the US) won't protect you if someone harms themselves or others during a course or following your instructions later. Even if they misunderstood you.

The responsibility and liability come back to you (and not just the venue you teach at).

You'll need professional liability insurance for that.

Check with your insurer to be sure you're covered.

Have fun, but note :

Product liability or general business liability (in the US) won't protect you if someone harms themselves or others during a course or following your instructions later. Even if they misunderstood you.

The responsibility and liability come back to you (and not just the venue you teach at).

You'll need professional liability insurance for that.

Check with your insurer to be sure you're covered.
Excellent advice, thank you. I have already been chatting with my agent and she is working up an estimate for me. I will email her and ask her about professional liability as well