NEEM Oil

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jakeedin

Reaction score
Neem Oil has been traditional grown in India and in recent years have been grown in many countries for a number of reasons.

I am a newbie in soap-making and at first, it was all to do with the artistic side of soap-making. I was curious as to how solified coloured fats can be so beautiful. It wasn't the benefits of soap-making that attracted me.

I started soap-making only about eight weeks ago and having tried a number of batches, it was time to do something useful. Every year, parents hate sending their school at the start of the academic year. Our three girls all come back with nits at the start of the academic year and each year we have to perform the monkey's ritual of nit-picking. So, about six weeks ago I made a batch using NEEM OIL.

Soap calc sap values: NaOH 0.139 KOH 0.195
Recipe used: OO pomace 25%, CO 25%, Castor 18%, Palm 18% and Neem Oil 14%.
Sodium Lactate - did not use
Colours: did not use
Additives: did not use
Superfats: Sweet Almond Oil 5% + 5% on the SoapCalc

I don't want everybody to think this is the recipe. It was only a fun recipe(experimental). If I were to do it again, which I will because I have to as the academic year is about to start, it would be different.

First and foremost, before I forget, pregnant ladies are not to use NEEM and those who are thinking of starting a family can not use NEEM. I'll leave the science of this point to be answered by http://www.discoverneem.com/neem-information.html. There is another website but it was too scientific.

It wasn't my intention to post this but, having tested the batch I felt it was worthy of posting as to what I have learnt from all these experience soapmakers on this forum and me mucking around.

When buying NEEM the following should be considered: