Tea Infused Oils for CP soaps

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnray

Reaction score
Hello Everybody,

I am new to soap making and can't wait to get started! I am going to start my olive oil bars once my mould gets here this friday!

Churning our ideas, I am thinking of infusing oils with teas (because I am a tea lover). I've looked up some videos and literature. So I placed them in a mason Jar and placed them in a warm bath for 3 hours, being very careful to not boil the water and then let it cool and sit till I need them. But I am using the twinnings teabags instead of loose tea leaves.

Can anyone share their experiences in infusing oils with tea leaves?
(I'm preparing my oils for the next batch after my olive oil de-moulds)

Also, any suggestions to what teas that give great aromas? I am doing the following right now
- Earl Grey
- Camomile
- Mint

I have used tea (in various ways) in several soaps. (Also a tea lover.) No tea fragrance has ever remained in the tea by simply using tea, or tea leaves. If you want fragrance that remains, you will have to use a fragrance oil.

The best tea fragrance I've ever used (for my nose & my preference) is Chai Tea Cybilla, but sadly I can't find it anymore. One of these days, I hope to find a tea fragrance that I find as satisfying as that one was.

I have used tea (in various ways) in several soaps. (Also a tea lover.) No tea fragrance has ever remained in the tea by simply using tea, or tea leaves. If you want fragrance that remains, you will have to use a fragrance oil.

The best tea fragrance I've ever used (for my nose & my preference) is Chai Tea Cybilla, but sadly I can't find it anymore. One of these days, I hope to find a tea fragrance that I find as satisfying as that one was.

If the scent doesn't stay, would it be worth to actually infuse the oils other than for the colour?