Soft soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Egzandra

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to soap making, but I have made a few batches already using Melinda Coss's book on handmade soaps. They turned out quite well, but the fourth batch which was the honey and beeswax soap has been a bit of a disaster. It has not hardened, and although I managed to get it out of the moulds by leaving them in the freezer for an hour, the soap is the consistency of a soft fudge (Looks like fudge as well! due to the colour) or mashed potato. Feels greasy to the touch.

I did check the lye content, which was right. I used the same oils as Melinda, the only difference was that I used camomile tea instead of water, gold beeswax instead of white, and I added some camomile essential oil at the end. This I thought would make it smell nice, but the soap actually smells fatty. Not very nice - how disappointing!

After I put it in the moulds I kept peeking at it and unwrapping the blanket to look. I suppose this could have made it lose heat too quickly. What do you experienced soap makers think?

Hi Egzandra and welcome to the forum! :)

What were the oils used in the soap? Was there a lot of olive oil?

IrishLass

Soft, squidgy soap

Thank you for welcoming me. I used (per recipe) 15oz shortening (Trex) which states on the pack that it is vegetable fat, 10 oz almond oil. 7oz olive oil, 2 oz beeswax. The recipe said that it should trace in 30 mins. I think I got a trace at around this time. I then used a jug to pour the mixture into the moulds at which time it looked quite thick. I had to warn my daughter not to dip her finger in and lick it because it looked edible.

Maybe I should try remelting it over a pan of hot water and add some more scent at that time.

Thank you for your reply

:D