Soapmaker users question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ItsForrest

Reaction score
I'm an accountant by trade. As you might guess, this means I can get a bit obsessed with the math of my soap making. Yesterday I installed Soapmaker 3 pro and spent a bit of time entering my inventory and exploring the program.

The recipe and lye-calc doesn't seem as sophisticated as soapcalc. When I enter a custom oil (Pine tar) it only has one field for your SAP where Soapcalc has separate fields for NaOH and KOH.

Do any of you who use Soapmaker double check or build your recipes in Soapcalc or Soapee and then just store them in Soapmaker?

I have only ever used soap calc. I have created my own spreadsheets ( having an accounting degree) I like to have all the costs associated with my soaps

Join soapmaker3 support group on Facebook. It has excellent helpful advice.

Look for the cream soap section in recipes and you will find the KOH/NaOH option.

No soap calculator has the same results. I started on soap calc then tweaked me recipes in SM3 until I got what I want. Now I just use SM3. Lye concentration is a tiny bit higher in soap calc than SM3. Once you work it out for your recipes it is so much easier using SM3.

Last edited:
Do any of you who use Soapmaker double check or build your recipes in Soapcalc or Soapee and then just store them in Soapmaker?

Always. I've been using Soapcalc since I started making soap. I'm comfortable with it. I bought Soapmaker a year or so ago but only started using it seriously this year (January). I've input my favourite recipes but still make them following the Soapcalc recipes. I'm beginning to formulate recipes in Soapmaker but I still double check them on Soapcalc. I just find it easier.