soap not tracing

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bubbles 1990

Reaction score
I am very new to soap making. I have only made it three times ( all failed).
My recipe is:
900 mls water ( i use rain water from my tanks)
295g lye
615g coconut oil
800 mls sunflower
800 mls Olive (Pomace)

I was told that this recipe was meant to trace in 40 mins but after 3 hours it is at its peak which is to half as thick as I think it should be.

My lye is pearl and is supposed to be 99% pure.
After adding 30% more lye the result was better (thicker) but no where near satisfactory.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Hi Bubbles ... have you run these oils through a soap calculator?

I checked your oils on the one I use and it recommends -
797.4 gm water
312.88 gm sodium hydroxide

How long are you leaving your soap in the mould before checking to see if it's hardening?

I recommend you work with a much smaller amount of oils to begin with ... just in case the soap doesn't work out.

What were the temperatures ( approx) of the oils and lye solution when
You started, and with what are you stirring/mixing?

Oh just reread the originL post. You cannot just add "30%more lye"!!!
you need to use the proper amount and not excess or you can end up with quite a dangerous product!

Ok,
I left the soap in moulds for 24 hours undisturbed without any signs of thickening.
I was stirring with a stainless steel whisk.
The lye was about 65 degrees celcius when I combined it with the oils and the oils were at about 35 degrees. The recipe did not specify temperatures.
I will try Dragonkaz's measurements and see how I go tomorrow (in Australia currently 10:30pm) and see how I go. Thanks for your help everybody.

Your lye is way too hot. That can slow trace for a LONG time. Oils and lye should be between 35-45 degrees Celsius for optimal results.