Soap issues

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cindy

Reaction score
I've been making GM soap for 15 years and I've rarely had a problem. Recently, I started trying a master batch lye solution and I've had nothing but problems. This last batch I made has a very thin, damp, oily crystal layer on top. It definitely zaps!! I just made the soap 2 days ago and it's still in it's loaf mold. Will time take care of this? What am I doing wrong?

Are you using water to make the masterbatch lye?
And then going on to make the split system of GM soap?
If you can write out your exact recipe and the method and recipe for your masterbatch lye we might be able to help you.

Yes, I'm using water to make the master batch. I'm using a 1:1 ratio, so 12 oz of lye with 12 oz water. My recipe calls for 12 oz lye and 32 ounces of liquid (water or gm). I'm measuring out 24 ounces of the master batch solution and I add 20 ounces of milk to my oils.

Yes, I'm using water to make the master batch. I'm using a 1:1 ratio, so 12 oz of lye with 12 oz water. My recipe calls for 12 oz lye and 32 ounces of liquid (water or gm). I'm measuring out 24 ounces of the master batch solution and I add 20 ounces of milk to my oils.
I don't do MB and I have not had coffee yet today but,
Wouldn't you only use 12 oz of the MB and then add 20 oz other Liquid?
or is my calculation off, like I said I don't do MB

Neither do I masterbatch, but what you said it what I thought it was supposed to be.

Edit:
I stand corrected. Thanks @Michele50 for the below post :)

Last edited:

I don't know if this helps anyone but I found IrishLash's explanation detailed and could maybe be of assistance. I've been interested in MBing but haven't tried it as of yet. I'll put the quote below.

No such thing as a stupid question! :)