Slight Unintended Glycerin Rivers : An Error in Thinking, and how I solved it.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All,

I wanted to post this in case somebody who is using a master batch of NaOH and converting it to a desired concentration doesn't make the same mistake that I did.

I had made a 50% master batch solution of NaOH. No problem there. I would convert to a 33% NaOH solution and make soap. Some soap seemed a bit... well... like they had hints of glycerin rivers. Since I'm relatively new to soap making it was only when I was reading in this forum about Glycerin Rivers and seeing pictures that I had that "Hey, some of my soap kinda has that look!" thought. I read about different causes of glycerin rivers and how low NaOH concentration can help induce glycerin rivers. This in turn caused me to wonder about by conversion from 50% solution to 33% solution (did I not calculate correctly?)... I re-thought my formula: Initial Concentration (C1) X Initial Volume (V1) = Final Concentration (C2) X Final Volume (V2) that is: (C1)(V1) = (C2)(V2) ... Hm, what was wrong? What was wrong was staring me in the face! Instead of using VOLUME (ml) I was WEIGHING (grams) it! The problem with this, is density... Pure water (H2O) has a density of 1 gram/ml. Thus, with water, 1 ml of water also equals 1 gram of water. So, for water, yes, you can weigh it out like I was, but for NaOH, the density is higher. NaOH has a density of 1.53 grams/ml in solution at room temperature. What this means ultimately is that I was under-calculating the amount of NaOH @ 50% solution that I needed to use, and over-calculating the amount of water I needed! Thus, while I wanted a 33% solution of NaOH, I was actually ending up with with less. My NaOH solution was more along the lines of 29.98%. Not super low, but not 33% either. Add in the other causes for glycerin rivers