Salt soaps still sweating after months

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aab1

Reaction score
I've been making salt soaps for several years and had never seen one sweat until I started doing them in larger quantities to sell which also happened to be the first time I made soap during the summer which is probably why. Sweating also just restarted recently as it's now cool enough outside for the AC to not run much if at all, I suspect the AC running more often during summer kept the sweating down. Would a simple oscillating fan over the soaps stop it or would i need a dehumidifier?

I have soaps that were made about 3 months ago and still sweat sometimes. I was under the impression that once cured and dried the sweating would stop, will they keep sweating forever depending on the atmospheric conditions?

Is this a problem when selling in store? Do they know handmade soap sweats? Is there anything that can stop it? Some of them have the labels soaked and will need a new label, at least they are color laser printed so there isn't ink running all over the place.

Would letting them cure on paper towels to absorb the sweat from the bottom help? What about putting them in a dehydrator for a while, will that prevent sweating?

Should I heat shrink the soaps after curing in plastic wrap to prevent sweating? If so after how much curing time can they be wrapped? Could they sweat inside the wrap?

Thanks

Last edited:
What kind of salt are you using? Did you recently change? Some salts are better and some and worse about weeping. Never use dead sea salt or epsom salt in a solid bar soap, and others may have other minerals that increase sweating.

I use the least expensive sea salt I can find, however I do remember once the store was out of the regular sea salt and I had to get iodized sea salt for a few batches, could that make a difference?