salt bar question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bex1982

Reaction score
I haven't made salt bars in a few years and was about to make up a batch.
Do I subtract the weight of the salt from the oils. If I used my 5 lb mold and used 2.5 lb salt , would I make a batch of soap weighing 2.5 lb then mix them to equal 5 lb?

:) it's been too long since I've made them to answer competently, so i'll keep you company until one of the experts here answers...I used to know the formula...?

Someone will awnser soon :)

I bought some dead sea salt to use and then read that you can't use it in soap, passing it on. I guess I'll just be using it for bath soaks.

I make a ton of salt bars but have no idea what the formula is. When I make a 2lb batch, I add between 75% to 100% salt and will have enough batter left over to fill around 4, 5oz cavity molds.

I'm no expert and my recipes are now set for all my molds in terms of weights but I don't believe I did 1\2 since the salt wouldn't take up the same volume as oil/water. I want to say I did 2\3 but I'm on vacation so can't check my old notes. Curious to see the answer and if my thinking is correct. Lol

Mostly wondering if you would deduct whatever amount of salt from your weight of oils. Since you said salt takes up the same volume as oils, my guess would be I would deduct unless I want extra soap. I'd like to keep it all in my 5 lb mold.

Edit: or sorry, I thought you said "would" but it was wouldn't take up as much. Lol. I did find an old recipe but it's for 2 lb mold. I used 30 oz oils and 1lb salt.

Last edited:
The answer to your question is in a previous thread on the forum
http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=8524

Cool, thanks. I did a search but couldn’t find anything!