Recipe Improvement advice

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thesussexsoapco

Reaction score
Hi All,
I'm excited to join this forum after hiding in the shadows for a while. I have been making soap on and off for a few years but returning after a long break after having my daughter (who is 7 weeks today) I have made many different recipes but i have a go to recipe which seems to work out well for me, the only thing is i am wondering what you all thought about it and if i can improve it at all? i have played around with soap calc adding and subtracting oils etc but the numbers stay around the same. can i still have a hardish bar but have more conditioning values to it? your advice is much appreciated! Thank you!

this is my recipe, its pretty basic:

olive oil 18oz 30%
palm oil 18oz 30%
coconut oil 18oz 30%
avocado oil 4oz 6.667%
caster oil 2oz 3.333%

5% superfat- sorry forgot to say x

Coconut oil can be very drying. Many soapers don't use it above 20%. Have you make soaps with 30% coconut oil before and liked them? I would make a 1-2 lb batch of that recipe and see how you liked it. If I were making it, I'd drop the coconut oil to 20%, raise the castor to 5 or 6%, and make up the difference in olive oil. But that's just me.

I would also cut down on the CO, and up the OO. is there a reason for the avocado oil? I find most soapers don't really use that in an everyday bar b/c of the cost. maybe take that out, get castor up to 5%, decrease the CO, and make the difference between OO and/or PO.