Properties of oils

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys, I am new to this and have made one and a half successful batches :eek:

I've read alot of stuff online about the properties of oils but I was wondering what you guys have experienced with certain oils.

In my second batch it was very heavy on coconut oil, here is the recipe:

310g Coconut oil

115g Almond oil

125 Olive Oil

105 Palm oil

and 95g sodium hydroxide

I found it had a certain smell to it like cheap soap you find at a public toilet. I tested a little bit out after two days of drying and I found it very harsh on my skin.
I wonder if this has something to do with the big proportion of coconut oil. What do you guys think?

[another fiasco during this batch was that I think I did not allow the lye to cool for long enough and I did not insulate the soap and it sort of exploded a little.]

I just ran it through soapcalc, and your coconut oil is at 47%....I'll wager that is what is making it so drying. I keep my coconut oil somewhere between 20-30%, depending on what I'm doing....usually 20%.

Can you elaborate on the exploding? I don't think I understand.

Take care,
Mike

P.S. I don't insulate some of my CP soaps and while they don't gel, they're usually fine.

Thanks for replying. I think you are right about the coconut oil. I will definitly use less next time but I tried the soap again today and its made my skin very tight and dry. Too bad I have to chuck it out but its all trial and error I suppose.

As for the exploding... I went to check on it after a few hours of putting it in the mould, as I said I didn't insulate it or cover it with any glad wrap. When I looked closer it had caved in in the middle and it had bubbled out on the sides, like a pot of porridge left on a stove that starts to overflow.