Preservatives necessary if no water added?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soapqueen

Reaction score
I'm new to lotions and potions. I have made a few tested by family and friends, and they really liked them. I just used mixtures of oils and butters, no water. Is it necessary to use preservatives if no water is used?

Also, I used tapioca flour to reduce oilyness, but found in some of the recipes it 'balled' when rubbed on the skin; how much of that is the maximum I can use without getting 'balling'?

And does anyone have a good recipe for body butter without water that they would be willing to share?

Thanks in advance :D

For me lotion is oil, water, emulsifier and of course a good preservative.
If you're family and friends are going to use it in places with high humidity (bathroom) I would add a preservative even though there's no water in your recipe.
You could make some whipped body butter, which is all oil and feels great.

If you are making a cream using no water...I think you can add either Rosemary Oil Extract or Vit. E (tocopherol??) as an antioxidant to help keep the oils from going rancid... but they are not preservatives...just antioxidants meaning theyll give your cream more life...

There are several massage creams I know of that have only olive and coconut oils used...with vit e for a antioxidant... its good stuff but tends to be greasy..which is why i like making lotions with water etc...

Thanks for the replies. What do people think are the gentlest and most natural preservatives to use in a lotion? And why?

In my opinion a preservative should do what it's supposed to; and I don't consider any natural product to be a good allround preservative.