Please help, what has happened to my soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ceri

Reaction score

Good afternoon all, sorry for size of pics. :oops:

I am a complete newbie here and am posting in desperation...sob.

I tried what I thought would be a lovely batch, but disaster struck.

My receipe was:
300g coconut oil
300g olive (pomace) oil
300g Sunflower Oil,
100g beeswax.

I used 300ml tap water & 135g sodium Hydroxide. (run through MMS lye calc beforehand)

It seemed to be going so well and traced within 5 mins or so, i poured it into a silicone loaf mold, covered it with cardboard and wrapped it all up in old towels. It set up nicely overnight and I de-molded it this morning.

Any advice you guys could give would be greatly appreciated, I really want to save it if i can.

Thank you :cry:

That sticks...I feel bad for you :cry: I can't help as I'm pretty new also, but I just wanted you to know that I understand and hate being disappointed too. Better luck on the next one and hopefully some has an answer for you. Good luck! :wink:

10% Beeswax, try the recipe again with 1 or 2%.

Thank you guys,

loveit_latherit - thank you for your support :) it is disheartening when something goes wrong

Deda - I'll try it again with a lower % of beeswax and keep my fingers crossed.
Do you reckon I'd be able to re batch it and add more oil & Lye?

Zenobiah - what do use now instead of sunflower? I like coconut but i believe this can make the end soap a bit drying.

Just up one of the other oils. I have heard it said that CO is not really drying but is some sort of myth among soapmakers but I really don't know, haven't researched it myself. I would go with more OO personally.

Thank you Zenobiah, I,m just running a tweaked version through the lye calc as we speak, I'll let you know how it goes xx

Zenobiah said: