Pine Tar & Neem Oil CP Recipe

Discussion in 'Soap Making Recipes & Tutorials' started by JonQ, Jan 6, 2019.

Help Support Soapmaking Forum by donating:

1. Jan 6, 2019 #1

JonQ

JonQ

JonQ

I recently made a batch of Pine Tar soap using the following recipe.
    60% Olive Oil
    20% Coconut Oil
    5% Castor Oil
    15% Pine Tar
    I also added Activated Charcoal and I was very pleased with the results. I would like to make another small batch and introduce Neem Oil. My thought was 10% Pine Tar and 5% Neem Oil or is that too much or too little? I have no experience with Neem Oil. Any thoughts on adding Neem to my recipe?

2. Jan 6, 2019 #2

Twinkle

Twinkle

Twinkle

I make a 100% neem oil soap and i love it. I dont mind the smell at all, is quite solid and lathers well. As such, i believe you will be fine with any amount you choose to add.

Meena likes this.
  3. Jan 6, 2019 #3

Obsidian

Obsidian

Obsidian

I'd add at least 10% neem, reducing the OO. I personally use 25% and like it. It does have a very strong smell but it fades a lot during cure.

Twinkle likes this.
  4. Jan 6, 2019 #4

JonQ

JonQ

JonQ

I really like that suggestion of replacing 25% of the Olive Oil. I love the smell of Neem, so that should work out well.
    Thank you!

5. Jan 6, 2019 #5

JonQ

JonQ

JonQ

Thank you Twinkie, I may try that sometime!

6. Jan 6, 2019 #6

DeeAnna

DeeAnna

DeeAnna

Neem soaps fine at higher %. I've done 85% with no trouble, and I think Obsidian has done 100%.

I am a little hesitant to wholeheartedly recommend that much neem in soap, however. Neem, while reasonably safe on the skin, can be toxic if ingested. If a child or pet were to eat a high-neem soap, it could cause real trouble. Neem is awfully bitter, I know, but people and pets sometimes do crazy things.