Palm olein vs. Palm oil SAP value???

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PAT_D_O

Reaction score
This is a question for expert soapers I guess.

I have never used palm oil in my HP or CP soap before just because it is pretty much impossible for me to find it where I live. But I have heard so much about how great soap is with palm oil in it and many soapers can´t do without it.

Well, I finally found PALM OLEIN (not exactly palm oil) and did a CP and a HP batch. I entered the amount of palm olein in my soap calc just as it were palm oil. But my soap is a big oily mess. A BIG pool of oil sitting on top. And it won't get reabsorbed as days go by as many times happens. :confused::confused:

I decided to repeat the recipe just in case I weighed something wrong and got the same results :cry::cry:

So, I´m thinking maybe PALM OLEIN has a different SAP value than PALM OIL (VERY different). This is what I found about palm olein: "Palm oil can be further refined into palm olein (liquid) and palm stearine (solid). Palm olein is used as a frying oil because it is very stable to heat, whilst palm stearine is used in biscuits and cakes and in non-hydrogenated margarine."

Any of you can help me with this? I've been seaching the web trying to find palm olein in soap calculators but no results so far. Thanks for the help.