Other vendors copying your products

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soapsydaisy

Reaction score
I recently started selling in a few markets for the summer. Even though selling soap is new to me (I have been making soap for 3 years) I have a lot of experience selling other things at farmers markets. I was very upset and caught off guard when I noticed that another vendor was copying my products. I lost it when she posted on the markets FB page that she was making a soap that looks just like our signature soap with the same fragrance. She often walks into my booth acting friendly but she is checking out our "goods". She isn't even exclusively soap, she sells mostly trinkets from other countries. Have any of you had this happen to you? How did you handle it?

On an angry little side note, I checked out her FB page and noticed she sold her 1st batch of soap! The whole situation makes me so mad:mad:

Personally, I think this will happen and there's not much to do about it. Instead of getting angry, just figure out how you can "market" your product better. I always believe that in the long run karma will bite the copycats in the butt. (It might take a really long time, but I still believe it will happen. :))

Do you have anything posted on the markets FB page? If not, get on it!